Ferry Thumbnails

Ferry_thumbs_01

This week I had a load of translations for a big publishing company to finish for Friday, which is a good thing because they pay me to do them, but it means artyness has to fit in the gaps. I managed to sketch few thumbnails based on the ferries which operate between the smaller islands off north-west Scotland.

I’m wondering about something like the top left corner as a ‘twin’ for the ship being repaired. I like the dark and the forced perspective of the top left design, as it tells a story, rather than being a static picture. The ferry is a bit small though. Will have to try a different angle.

I like the way these three pictures turned out together. A bit like a very slow graphic novel.

The publishing company just told me there are lots more translations coming, so progress will be slow next week as well. On the other hand, being paid is nice.

Leave a Reply

