Steam sketches…

With the ship-under-repair painting complete (better late than never), the other wall of the dining room is looking empty. We thought about another boatyard design but variety is never a bad thing. On the other hand, I’m not the sort of person that can paint cute cottages or puppies…

So here’s one possibility:

aus_01

From these ideas I think this looks promising:

aus_02

I chose this type because they tended to be found in grimy industrial settings (see previous comment on personal allergy to twee cuteness) and also because it is theoretically one of the simplest designs around.

Time will tell if this helps the painting work faster

3 thoughts on “Steam sketches…

  1. These are great, you have already captured the essence of a Hunslet Austerity…definitely one of my favourite locos. I, too, have an aversion to pretty things, especially flowers 🙂

  2. Thanks Iain: I’m glad to note you could recognise it was an Austerity.

    Of course, I’ve just read your blog, especially ‘your railways in art’ series and not I’m getting all ambitious about ‘capturing the moment’. To be honest, my favourite reference shots are more of the ‘colliery with a train in it’ as opposed to ‘steam engine with incidental colliery background’. Something like this: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/1/18/NCB_Hunslet_Austerity_63000326_at_Bickershaw_Colliery_%285%29.jpg with the locomotive further back, or at least more the style of the first and last images in this post: http://therailwaymuddler.blogspot.de/2015/02/more-railways-in-art-little-further-off.html but I have a feeling that if I attempt that I’D make something like a five year old would paint.

    On the other hand, I think I would have trouble with the wheels if I went for the picture above. I was thinking of having a crossing gate in front of the loco to -partly- obscure them, or possibly a wisp of steam to hide the mistakes…

  3. Pingback: Folding knife | Wild Goose

Leave a Reply

