I’ve been busy…

So, yes, I’ve been a bit quiet again. For over a year in fact. This was because I was rying to get a qualification as a cabinetmaker and it took more energy than I could spare to do anything else.

I finished the course in February (and carved a Celtic knot into the box I made for my final project) and was diagnosed with Asthma which means I probably can’t work in a normal carpenters workshop, so the Job Centre is checking this with the doctor to see if I’m officially not able to be a carpenter, and therefore need retraining, and as with most government offices, this is taking a while.

So after being sensible for the last few years I decided to use the time to do something ‘silly’, or to put it another way, something I really wanted to do but was always told was silly.

I decided to try being an oral storyteller.

After much encouragement from an established English speaking storyteller in Germany, I put a show together, called it “A great British Evening” and made some posters, which is where this blog post gets back on topic, finally:

GBE_Postcard_front_mergedOne poster. Made by hand. And yes, I know ‘Nessie’ is on a slope. I’ll watch out for that next time…

Oh, and people turned up. And enjoyed the evening. So not I’m working on a second show which will need a poster, and some other bits and pieces, which will also need more drawings.

I’ll post the relevant ones here…

3 thoughts on “I’ve been busy…

  1. most cabinet makers work using a good spec dust mask, as wood dust,especially from imported varieties does cause serious problems.
    So you don’t have to give up after all that training….just use appropriate precautions.

    • Hello GZ, thanks for the comment…

      Yes, dust is a problem. In Germany even dust masks are not considered enough protection so vacums are mandatory on all cutting and drilling equipment.

      Unfortunately my problem is more the extremely toxic chemicals used for painting and vernishing -which are applied by spraying. Even wih a massive vacum filtration system and a high-spec mask, I was still having trouble.

      To be honest, I’m happy enough with that and looking at alternatives…

      • yes, I’ve been in joiners workshops here and they have the vacuum extraction. Pity about the finishing….just remember not everyone uses toxic chemicals for this,you can use naturals…but finding someone who does this may be difficult

Leave a Reply

