Small spiral 1

I’m not too sure how this works. This should be the first of a set of four tiny spirals, to see how accurately I can paint on a small canvas, in this case 100mm X 100mm or about 4 square inches. Making the lines neat proved to be a challenge, hence the ‘artistic’ blurry bit. I also need to figure a way to make designs without lots of pencilled in construction marks, or at least find a way to erase them.

Still, I said this would include everything I make, not just the ‘successes’, and I’ve got three to go, so I’ll get more practice and inflict the results on you at some point.

Although these look very ‘Celtic’ to me, almost identical designs appear on temples I’ve visited in Kyoto, Japan, which are considered the high point of Japanese art and architecture.

4 thoughts on “Small spiral 1

  1. Today I discovered this blog when looking at your profile. Nice pictures so far!

    I am not an expert for art, but the pictures look really good.

    It is very likely, that you can find certain symbols like this picture in many cultures. So this design can really be celtic AND japanese.

    Look at the swastica for example. It was a sign, the germans invented for their Third Reich. It is very much older and you can find it in the runes as well as on old indish temples. Look in wikipedia for swastica to read more on this.

    By the way, your design is kind of a swastica with three arms. đŸ˜‰

    • Thanks for the comment, and I’m glad you like it. There’s strong evidence that the Celtic people came out of Asia, so it’s no suprise that the designs travelled back and forth. Japan uses Swastikas as well, as does India and Nepal: in fact Nepali temples often have Swastikas next to what we would recognise as a ‘Star of David’ which looks strange to us.

      And yes, a Swastika is a development of the spiral. The Isle of Man even has a three legged swastika as its flag. There were some Swastikas in Celtic art, I don’t think I’ll be putting any on here though…

      • You’ll find that the swastika used in Sanskrit carvings (in the Indian sub continent) usually is the other way around- and like the triskele, is a Sun sign.

  2. Very nicely painted. It’s good to see the canvas coming through and makes a nice change from the normal rather texture free illuminated lettering.

Leave a Reply

